The Venue


Cinema Karim
15 Emad El-Deen St
Downtown, Cairo
01283200888

Team



Youssef Shazli
Managing Director
yshazli@mifegypt.com
Alia Ayman
Head Curator
aayman@mifegypt.com
Nada Elissa
Graphic Designer
nelissa@mifegypt.com
Malak Makar
Festivals & Special Programs Manager
mmakar@mifegypt.com
Ahmed Sobky
Head of Sales, Acquisitions & Theatrical Distribution
asobky@mifegypt.com
Nawara Shoukry
Festivals & Distribution Coordinator
nshoukry@mifegypt.com
Yasmeen Mokhtar
Marketing & Communications Manager
ymokhtar@mifegypt.com
Mouwafak Chourbagui
Head of Programming | Panorama of the European Film
mchourbagui@mifegypt.com
Rama Mahanna
Programmer | Panorama of the European Film
rmahanna@mifegypt.com
Stéphanie Sicard
Festival Consultant | Panorama of the European Film
ssicard@mifegypt.com



The Office


Address

Misr International Films
35, Champollion Street, Downtown
Cairo - Egypt

Phone

(+2) 2 574 0020
(+2) 025743049

Email

info@mifegypt.com

About Zawya


Misr International Films (MIF) launched Zawya in March 2014 as the first art-house cinema in Egypt, located in Downtown's Cinema Odeon.

With a program split between theatrical releases and special events, Zawya has screened an alternative selection of films from different parts of the world, including short films, documentaries, feature films and experimental work. Zawya’s program focuses on local independent films to encourage and promote the work of young Egyptian and Arab filmmakers. Having organized screenings in multiple venues outside of Cairo, Zaywa aims to eventually grow into a series of cinema screens spread out across the country.

Zawya also gives special attention to the concept of Education and Cinema, developing a strong educational program in collaboration with schools and universities in Egypt.

This initiative builds on the Panorama of the European Film, launched in Cairo in 2004 by MIF.